The Orchestra

The American Youth Symphony provides landmark Fellowships to musicians in high school through doctoral programs to prepare them for leadership in 21st Century orchestras and ensembles. Musicians receive in-depth exposure to the varied styles of symphonic music being performed today by professional orchestras, from classical masterworks to world premieres and innovative film scores. Competitively selected, Fellows receive a tuition-free scholarship, per-concert stipends, perform at renowned venues such as Royce Hall and Walt Disney Concert Hall, and work alongside world-class guest artists such as Daníel Bjarnason, Anna Clyne, Sarah Chang, Johannes Moser, John Williams, David Newman, Alan Silvestri, Charles Fox, and Lera Auerbach. Designed to challenge, nurture, and inspire, the American Youth Symphony is a musical laboratory where Fellows not only master their parts and develop a deep understanding of musical scores, but also explore their role as musician citizens within their community. At the American Youth Symphony, we aim to create leaders, innovative thinkers, and articulate communicators for the 21st century and beyond.

Read more about the history and mission of the American Youth Symphony >
How to audition for the American Youth Symphony >

2019/20 Orchestra


Gallia Kastner, Concertmaster, The David Frisina Concertmaster LAPO 1943-1978 Concertmaster Co-Sponsor & The Annica and James Newton Howard Concertmaster Co-Sponsor Chair
Alexis Hatch, Associate Concertmaster, The James & Ilene Nathan Associate Concertmaster Chair
Bree Fotheringham, Assistant Concertmaster, The Theodore J. Slavin & Marsha Calig Assistant Concertmaster Chair
Hannah Chou, The Shoshana Claman & Bill Sheinberg Violin Chair
Anna Kouchnerov
Sam Lorenzini
John Fawcett
Wagner Oliveira
Elizabeth Scarnati
Anthony Kukavica
Mariko De Napoli
Justus Ross
Yaxin Tan                                                                                                                                                                        

Tommu Su
Samantha Leitch


Evan Johanson, Principal Second Violin, The Anika Lorber Principal Second Violin Chair
Wenqi Ke, Assistant Principal Second Violin
Elisa Jeon
Ani Sinanyan
Kayvon Sesar
Liya Ma
Sarah Bunch
Kristi Holstein
Oscar Martinez
Alexa Lee
Audrey Lee
Jasmine Kim
Madeleine Hogue                                                                                                                                                            


Johanna Nowik, Principal Viola
Nao Kubota, Assistant Principal Viola, The Flinkman-Marandy Assistant Principal Viola Chair
Yun-Chieh Sung
Chanelle Huang
Alec Santamaria
Stefan Kosmala-Dahlbeck, The Richard Rintoul Viola Chair
Lorenna Garcia
Lu Walstad
Mercedes Quintana
Leonardo Santi 

Christian Contrereas


Alexander Mansour, Principal Cello, The Bonnie Hartman Principal Cello Chair
Michael Ljungh, Assistant Principal Cello, The Sheila Krasnoff Assistant Principal Cello Chair
Joel Shimada, The James H. Warsaw Cello Chair*
Shawn Berry, The Anne Warsaw Cello Chair**
Raymond Newell
Tyler DeVigal
Alejandro Thompson-Sanchez
Tatum Hodgson
Angela Marvin


Sam Miller, Principal Bass, The Sidney Stern Memorial Trust Principal Bass Chair
Evan Hillis, Assistant Principal Bass, The Bradley & Stephanie Penenberg Bass Chair
Mark Lillie
Luis Primera
Sukyung Chun
Christopher Baechtel
Jacob Kalogerakos


Elizabeth LaCoste, Principal Flute, The Janneke Straub Principal Flute Chair
Sierra Schmeltzer, The Johnny Rotella Flute Chair


Marley Eder, The Johnny Rotella Piccolo Chair


Laura Arganbright, Principal Oboe
Chris Fujiwara


Will Stevens, The Benny & Liliana Brittan English Horn Chair


Sérgio Coelho, Principal Clarinet, The Steven Linder & Michael Hanel Principal Clarinet Chair
Alexander Tu


Richard Dobeck, The Helgard Field Clarinet Chair


Tyler Baillie


Lieza Hansen, Principal Bassoon, The Peter Mandell & Sarah Coade Mandell Principal Bassoon Chair
Anne Ranzani


Miles Mateus


Valerie Ankeney, Principal Horn, The Vincent DeRosa Principal Horn Chair****
Jackson Prasifka, Assistant Principal Horn
Christian Thomas
Elizabeth Linares
Tanner West


Forrest Johnston, Principal Trumpet, The Sue & Larry Hochberg Principal Trumpet Chair
Nicolas Bejarano, The Christy & George Short Trumpet Chair
Tyler Norris


Michael Dolin, Principal Trombone, Beverly Hills/Greater Los Angeles Association of REALTORS®
& The Rufo Family Trombone Chair

Cole Davis


Riley McGinn, The Gretchen & Randy Newman Bass Trombone Chair


Open, The Helgard Field Tuba Chair***


Jonathan Wisner, Principal Timpani, The Annie Gross Principal Timpani Chair


The Marilyn Ziering Percussion Section
Jeremy Davis, Principal Percussion
Pat Chapman
Arthur Lin
Nikolaus Keelegan


Open, The Dretzka Family Harp Chair


Wan Rosalind Wong, The Henry Brittan and Maxwell Siemons Piano Chair

*In Memory of James H. Warsaw
**In Honor of Anne Warsaw’s 102nd birthday
***In Honor of Helgard Field
****In Honor of Vincent DeRosa